Milestones

I had a feeling this week wasn’t going to be a great weigh-in.  I suppose I didn’t really do anything to sabotage my week.  I just maybe wasn’t as motivated last week.  I haven’t done very well at keeping up with the running in this heat.  Have I complained about the heat and the humidity in almost every post this month?  I feel like I have.  Most years, I’ll want to complain a little bit.  Then I always think, “Well, it definitely beats being snowed in last winter.”  But it hardly snowed last winter!  If next winter is anything like last winter, I have a feeling I’m going to like running outside in the winter a lot more than in the summer.  Any way, I digress.  I apologize.  Back to my week.  So, I didn’t run as much as I should have, and I tracked very sporadically (I will NOT apologize for accumulating a large majority of my vocabulary from Clueless.  Cher Horowitz was and remains to be a smart, smart lady.), so I wasn’t expecting a huge loss.  I ended up losing .8 pounds, which put me at exactly 30 with WW and 50 total.  Yeah!

I wanted to see what the change looked like approximately every 10 pounds. I know you’re probably incredibly impressed with my photo collage skills. My services are, indeed, available for hire.

I’ve been finding it harder to be motivated lately.  I think a lot of people do when they get to the 20-30 pound range.  I think that part of my problem is that I’m overconfident in my skills.  Maybe that’s not the right way to put it, but I’ll kind of slack a little.  Like, I’ll think, “Ohhh… I’ve been doing this for 16 weeks now, I know how to eat right.”  So I won’t track everything.  That leads to dangerous things.  Like eating an avocado every day for the entire week, and not realizing how many points they are.  I’ve also become more lax with measuring.  I know it won’t hurt too much if I have more than a cup of Cheerios, but little slip ups lead to big slip-ups, and then I don’t feel like I’m in control.  And for me, in this program, I need to be in control in order to succeed.  Not, like, obsessively so.  That would create bigger problems than gaining a bit of weight, but I do need to be in control of my own life.

As a lot of you know, about a month ago I wrote about the small victories I have won since starting WW.  I feel like I should update it a bit since I hit a couple of bigger goals this week.

  • I’ve lost 30 pounds in WW!  For reference, that is one of these plus an extremely full diaper:

  • I’ve lost 50 pounds over the course of 2 years.  For further reference, two years ago, I was carrying around the weight of two of the cutie pies from the previous picture (sans heavy diaper).
  • I fit into a size 16 jeans.  Comfortably (!), which hasn’t happened since high school.   (I should also note that when I was trying them on, a lot of the size 16’s fit very uncomfortably.)  I have been very lucky, because I’ve pretty much been able to get by with wearing workout clothes.  My summer uniform has been Nike running shorts and a tank top (thank you Nike for making cute, plus-size workout clothes and not always being able to sell the in season stuff and in turn selling it to places like TJMaxx and Nordstrom rack so that I can buy $35 shorts for less than $10!).  However, Saturday night I was meeting up with an old friend, so I had to wear real clothes.  Ugh (to wearing real clothes, not to seeing old friends)!  This is really only a half-problem, because my closet is filled with shirts I bought right after I had my reduction mammaplasty a few years ago, but haven’t fit in more recent years and do now.  The problem is in the pants.  (The previous sentence sparked a lot of inappropriate jokes in my head.  So much so that I considered deleting it and choosing my words more wisely.  Ultimately, I decided to leave it so you guys could have some fun with that.)  I have a pair of jean capris that really only fit right after I pull them out of the dryer.  And despite my better judgment, I keep wearing them.  Also, up until Wednesday, all of my underwear was too big.  This created problems.  It especially created problems on Wednesday, when I happened to be wearing a dress.  Mom and I made the dreaded trip to Walmart.  I absolutely hate going there and thought if I left to get the stuff I needed, on my own, it might be a quicker trip.  Well, I didn’t grab a basket and my arms were full of stuff when I was walking back to mom’s cart.  My underwear had been slowly creeping down, but I thought I could make it.  As I turned down the aisle she was in, they pretty much full on fell down.  I mean, I could kind of disguise the situation, but when you’re doing a really cracked out Sumo walk to try and stop your underwear from falling down in the middle of Walmart, you’re not really deflecting attention away from yourself.  I did get new underwear, though, so there’s no need to worry about me anymore.  Except, I did not get new pants.  So.  Maybe worry a little bit.  But at least one layer will stay up.  Oh yeah, this is supposed to be a list.  I should probably get back to it.
  • I ran 4 miles on Wednesday!  Most days this past week, my legs would start hurting a lot while running, so I maybe only do a mile.  Wednesday, they felt so much better, so I just kept running.  I ran to the highway, down to the next road, and then some.  Sometimes I forget that I’m going to have to turn around, and that’s kind of been my strategy for adding distance.  Maybe the only thing I find cool about running on gravel (besides the fact that when there’s corn on both sides, I just feel incredibly small, in a good way), is that sometimes when I go running, my footprints are still there from the night before.  Sometimes I try to run so that my opposite foot is right next to the print, so if someone happens upon my trail they’ll be like, “Wow!  Someone hopped down a country road for 4 miles?  That’s pretty impressive!”

I revisited my goals from last week, and I didn’t quite make them all.  I DID run 4 miles last week and I also ran 4 times last week.  Emily M. and I didn’t reach our 60 classes in Jazzercise before the shirts were gone, but that’s okay, I suppose.  The shirts are One Size Fits All, but they look a lot more like One Size Fits Medium, so it probably wouldn’t even fit me.  It would, however, fit Em so that makes me kind of sad.  I didn’t make it to an Aqua Zumba class, but I’m going to go tonight!  I’m excited!  Whenever I drive by the pool, it looks like they’re having so much fun.  I know my other goal was to learn how to shimmy, but — I’m sad to say — I’m throwing the towel in on that one.

Goals for this week:

  • Track every day.
  • Go to Jazzercise 5 times.
  • Run 4 times.  One time at least 5 miles.
  • Try a new kind of activity.  Maybe yoga?  I need to figure this out.
  • Finish The Color Run on Saturday!

Currently, my Power song when running:

Oh!  Also!  I have to brag a little bit:  My mom started WW last week and lost SIX POINT EIGHT pounds this week!  Holy Moly!  She’s a rockstar.

6 thoughts on “Milestones

Leave a Reply

