Oops, I did it again…

Weigh-in was today.  Last week after I weighed in, I walked confidently to the front of the meeting with a big smile on my face.  I had lost 8.4 pounds.  This week was more of a sneak quietly into the back.  I gained 3.8 pounds…  Almost half of what I lost the week before.  I would be lying if I said I didn’t expect to gain.  On Saturday, we celebrated my birthday with pizza and cake and ice cream.  Then Sunday (my actual birthday), my grandpa made the BEST bbq ribs.  Also, after I ran the 5k on Saturday, i took a brief sabbatical from working out.  My legs were so tired, and it’s been kind of nice to rest a bit.  I’m confident that once I get my routine back on track, I’ll start losing again.  But for now, I’d like to stop worrying about it and share my Birthday Week details!

My week was just awesome.  My 16 month old niece visited Tuesday through Saturday and we had SO much fun.  Every time I see her, she’s just smarter and cuter and all-together even more awesome than the last time I saw her (which I really didn’t think was possible).  We went on a lot of walks with the wagon and she helped me push the cart at the grocery store.  The house is so quiet without her here!

Friday, I made my birthday cake.  Now, before anyone gets all concerned about me making my own birthday cake… I WANTED to do it.  I don’t bake cake all that much anymore, especially since I’ve been eating healthier.  This is a cake that I’ve made several times.  In fact, it’s sort of my specialty.  I’m to the point where I almost have the recipe memorized.  While I was baking, I was SO excited.  I didn’t have to go back to the store for any extra ingredients.  I cleaned up as I went along.  Nigella was on the Cooking Channel.  (I’m kind of obsessed.  Her voice is what my inner dialogue sounds like when I’m baking, even though the only accent I can do in real life is Southern.  And even then, it’s not so much “Southern” as it is “hick.”)  Anyway, things were going pretty well.  I took the cakes out of the oven (they looked flawless) and let them cool for a very appropriate length of time on the cooling racks.  After they had cooled, I leveled them off and started frosting.  As soon as I finished, I noticed a crack in the top layer about an inch long.  I called to my mom, who was talking to my aunt, for advice.  She kept on talking while the cake kept on cracking.  I kind of pushed it together with my hands to try to save it, but it just kept falling through my fingers.  After many half cuss words were said, and surprisingly no tears spilled, I decided to just let it be.  There was talk of going to Central City or Grand Island to get an ice cream cake, but I decided we’d eat this one.

She’s a beaut, right? As my friend, Kim, called it: Pangea Cake

Since we had family over, I didn’t really have an opportunity to let go of steam regarding the cake.  So, I did what any normal person would do.  I went to Jazzercise… Angry.  I know you probably think Angry Jazzercise is not possible.  Well, it is.  I mean, it’s not EASY, but it’s possible.  I’m sure people thought I was crazy, but it was exactly what I needed.  By the time I got home, my sister and sister-in-law had arrived, so I was happy.  Also, one of the last songs of the set list was “What Makes You Beautiful” by One Direction, and that’s a REALLY hard song to stay angry to.  Friday night, we had a dance party with Little Miss Whitney on our deck and it was so much fun.

Saturday morning was the 5k and the weather couldn’t have been more perfect.  (At least, not for me.)  It had rained the night before and was cool and cloudy and I just loved it.  I had so much fun running with my sister.  There were a lot of random spurts of “dance running.”  We were also passed, about halfway through, by a woman pulling her two kids in a wagon.  I mean, she was walking fast.  But still, she was walking.  We eventually passed her right before the finish line (mainly because she let us).  According to my watch and the lady calling out the time, we finished in about 43 minutes.  HOWEVER, once they posted the times, they had me listed at 45 minutes AND said that I was 40 seconds slower than my sister when we pretty much finished at exactly the same time.  It’s not a big deal, but I was still a little pissed.  Then we went to a pancake feed at the airport, took naps, and CELEBRATED.  My mom had bought a little toy Batgirl to put on my cake, so that made my cake appear kind of badass.

I like to think Batgirl is saving Southern California from a giant earthquake/mudslide.

Waiting to blow out candles with my grandmas.

Yep… I DID blow them out with one breath. There was A LOT of smoke.

All-in-all it was a good Birthday Week.  We went to the Henry Doorly Zoo yesterday and had so much fun.  I’m ready to get back into a routine, though.  What I’m not looking forward to is running in this heat and humidity.  It’s 103º F in Aurora right now.  Yikes!  I think I might have to wake up at 5:00 am tomorrow to run.

One thought on “Oops, I did it again…

  1. Your cake was delicious! I’m glad you had a great time celebrating! I love this shirt/dress that you’re wearing, you look amazing!

    I’m so proud of you for running the 5k! Way to go!!!! I’m still sad I wasn’t able to run it with you!

Leave a Reply

