Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cookies! Please excuse the quality of the pictures. I took them on my iPod.

Sorry, it took so long to post another recipe!  I was without internet in my apartment, but I have it now.  Woohoo!

Last weekend I was missing Emily M. like crazy.  Specifically, I was missing our Cookie Company cookie dates like crazy.  When she was in school in Lincoln, we would meet at the downtown location and sit on a bench outside and eat peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies while people watching.  Their cookies are seriously the best.  So when I was at my parents’ house last weekend with free range of their kitchen (and ingredients) and nothing to do except miss my friend and watch the documentation of Kim Kardashian’s failed marriage (Please don’t judge my viewing choices.  I was watching Chopped, but a guy cut his finger then put a latex glove on so he could finish making his meal and the glove kept filling up with blood, so I had to change the channel), I decided to make some.  I found this recipe at the Brown Eyed Baker’s blog and was very pleased.  I think the recipe only made around 15 cookies, but you could easily double it.  Plus, it’s sometimes nice not to have a ton of cookies around.  Trust me, you’ll want to keep eating this.  A limited quantity is probably a good thing.

Now on to the cookies… The blog post said that each ball of dough should weigh 1.7 oz.  I weighed the first couple on my mom’s food scale and the battery ran out.  But really, unless you’re entering them in the fair for 4H you probably don’t need them to be that perfect.  A 1.7-ounce cookie was pretty much my mom’s big cookie scoop (I think it was probably closer to 1 or 2 tablespoons than 3, which is what the recipe calls for) with a little bit more dough added on.

Also, I can get a little out of hand with chocolate chips.  Usually I measure out what the recipe says and then pour a little more into the dough… and then usually a little bit more after that.  I don’t know if it’s because I love chocolate chips or if straying from the recipe just makes me feel like a rebel.   It doesn’t matter what I’m making.  I always add more chocolate chips.   However, this recipe had the PERFECT amount of chocolate chips.  I was pleased.  Enjoy!!

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 stick (½ cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature
½ cup creamy peanut butter
½ cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
½ cup rolled oats
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

This is either a picture of the ingredients, or an Affiliated Foods ad. On that note, I shall deliver the best grocery related pickup line ever: "Do you work for Affiliated Foods, cause you're Shurfine!" Get it???

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

2. Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

I feel it's important to make sure you have plenty of Diet Coke on hand before starting any project. At least any day time project. If it's after 5:00 p.m., replace Diet Coke with wine.

3. On medium speed, cream together the butter, peanut butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and beat to combine. On low speed, gradually add the flour until just combined. Stir in the oats, and then the chocolate chips.

See... perfect chocolate chips:everything else ratio.

4. Use a large cookie scoop and drop dough onto prepared baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the cookies are lightly golden. Cool completely on the baking sheet and then store in an airtight container at room temperature.

I love when so many cookies have been made on a pan that you can see the cookie outlines. I spaced these out a little bit more since they were bigger and I wasn't sure how much they'd spread out.

First pan, finished! Actually, I looked at these for about 2 minutes after taking them out of the oven and decided the needed to go back in for a little bit longer. So this is the NEARLY finished first pan.

Second pan, finished! I decided to keep these in the oven a little bit longer after the timer went off. I started doing some dishes and forgot about them, so they were a little big crispier--but, luckily, not burnt.

http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2010/02/24/peanut-butter-oatmeal-chocolate-chip-cookies/

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I had the privilege of trying these beautiful cookies and “I’m here to tell you” they were absolutely delicious. I want to make them myself sometime very soon!! Way to go Sally!!

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Recipe Round-Up! « blogitness

Leave a Reply

